Snippets From My Book

I recently started working on the sixth draft of my dystopian novel. This time through, I’m focusing on line edits, which has been very tedious and frustrating at times. Over the past few days I’ve only managed to finish four pages.

I’ve been working on this book for about two and a half years now. It began in 2014 as my first ever NaNoWriMo project. After finishing the first book, I realized that there was more to the story. It was a daunting prospect, but I came to accept that it wasn’t just going to be a duology, but a trilogy and, in January of 2015 I began the sequel. After completing the three books, I have now dedicated the past year or so of my life to editing the first one. Here’s hoping it’ll be published one day!

The book is set in futuristic Russia, and deals with a race of super-humans who are being hunted and killed off by the government. It’s comparable to X-Men, but not exactly the same.

Along with the sentences, I’ll also be sharing some visuals. And so, without further ado, here are a few snippets from my book.

Snow wandered to the ground as he scanned the street for a car to steal. As he continued into a neighborhood, he couldn’t get his mind off the poster.

dystopian3.gif

She laughed and laid back as flowers and plants grew around her body.

dystopian.gif

“Tell me where they went.” He knew she would never betray her people. Not for anything.

“I’d rather die,” she growled, her voice sharp as needles.

dystopian4

The place had an air of creepiness and misery. It was all too easy to imagine a monster walking out from one of the rooms.

dystopian8.jpg

Red and purple lights reflected on her skin as they came to a stop, and her breath fogged the glass as she leaned forward to look.

dystopian9

Her feet kicked the air as she looked from side to side, taking in everything with wide eyes. The curious joy on her face was the most heartwarming thing he had ever seen.

dystopian10.jpg

Broken twigs crunched underfoot and he paused, realizing just how alone he was out here. The ground was dimly lit by the milky glow of the moon, and his senses were good enough to alert him of a person coming but still, he felt vulnerable.

dystopian12.gif

The impact was enough to throw him aside, but not enough to knock him unconscious. He was all too aware as hot pain seared his arm, ripping its way through his shoulder and into his brain.

dystopian13

Hope you enjoyed! I’d love to know which snippet was your favorite! 🙂

Keep creating!

6 thoughts on “Snippets From My Book

Leave a Reply

