I Won Camp NaNoWriMo 2016!!! (April Session)

So much writing… *twitches*

Last month’s Camp NaNoWriMo was an uphill battle with portals and magical evil mages along the way, but I managed to reach the end of the trail and hit my goal of 50,000 words! (seriously, there were evil mages. I fought them off though… for now)

blogversary2

This was the hardest NaNoWriMo event I have ever participated in. It was difficult in the beginning and then, for a few days, things seemed to get better… but then it went back to being hard again. And it didn’t stop being hard until I finally dragged myself across the 50,000 word line. Most of the month was spent like this-

blog99blog999blog9999blog99999

I guess more than anything what this session taught me was to never ever give up. For the first time I had to really live the advice I have been giving people ever since I started writing which is, ‘when things get tough, when writing the book is torture and you could think of a million other things you would rather be doing, just force yourself to keep going.’ This is the first time I’ve ever really had to do that. I mean, every writer has their struggles with plot holes and frustrating characters and the debilitating self doubt that nothing you write matters but this was the first time where I honestly didn’t enjoy writing the book. And not just some of it but pretty much everything. But I kept going, and now I have 50,000 words of a story that I’m starting to like. Without the pressure of reaching my goal weighing down on me, I feel more free and it’s easier to write.

It kind of weird to say this but, this was the first NaNoWriMo session that I didn’t really enjoy. I was counting down the days until it ended basically the entire month. But if I could go back in time and choose whether or not to do it again, I think I would still make pretty much the same choice I did. It taught me a valuable lesson. No matter what, never give up. And I also have bragging rights now for enduring all that and still coming out with 50,000 words. XD

How about you guys? Did any of you fall into a hole and have a hard time climbing back out? Were your trails as bumpy as mine? I’d love to hear all about your Camp NaNoWriMo adventure!

I also want to let you guys know that I’m trying to post more frequently on here. I always feel bad for not putting out enough content for you guys. I’ll try to be better about it from now on. If you want, let me know what you’d like to see in the future! That way I can know I’m giving you the best content possible!

Thanks so much for sticking with me even though I may not be the best blogger in the world. I’ll try to get better for you all. 🙂

I’ll talk to you soon and remember to keep writing, even when it’s hard! 😀

2 thoughts on “I Won Camp NaNoWriMo 2016!!! (April Session)

Leave a Reply

