Camp NaNoWriMo Update (April 2016)

A couple days ago I hit 20,000 words! Yay!!! *throws party and celebrates*

blogversary

But unfortunately, this session hasn’t been all sparkles and celebrations.

Up until a few days ago, I really disliked my story. Fantasy just isn’t my genre and I really wasn’t enjoying my book. I came *this* close to giving up, and would have if I hadn’t been so determined not to break my NaNoWriMo winning streak. I didn’t write as much as I should have though and I, very quickly, fell behind.

I decided to just drag myself through though, no matter how tedious and torturous it was. Now I have hit 20,000 words and am actually kinda enjoying the story. I still don’t really know what I’m doing or where the book is going but I am pulling myself through it word by word.

So if you ever think your story is garbage or it’s not working, do NOT give up. Even if it’s the most boring, horrible, tedious experience of your entire life, do NOT give up. Push through the challenge and persevere! You never know where the story might go and what wondrous adventures it might take you on if you just decide to follow it. 🙂

I think one of the best quotes for my situation this month would be this one by E. L. Doctorow-

Blog333

It’s one of  my favorite writing quotes and I’ve understood it long before this book but this one gives it a whole new meaning. I barely even know what’s going to happen in the next scene. XD

Some other quotes to sum up my experience so far this month include-

Blog3333blog3333333blog33333blog333333

And this. Lots and lots of this-

fbf67898c47c997640a74a67b45405c3
What is words?! What is story?! What is fantasy?! UHG!!!

Fun times…

But anyway! It’s getting a whole lot better and I can now see myself more easily reaching my goal of 50,000! I am starting to understand my characters and my world better and the other day, my MC even surprised me with something I didn’t even know she was capable of!  It’s been incredible to watch my fictional universe and the people I’ve put in it start to flourish and, really, that’s all I need. I can go from there on plot and other things.

I will try to get another update in before the end of the month! If you want, let me know how you guys are doing with your Camp NaNo goals! I’d love to hear about your experience! 😀

I’ll talk to ya’ll later and, until then, remember to keep writing!

Leave a Reply

