Camp NaNoWriMo 2016- April Session

First of all, I want to apologize for being gone for so long! It’s terrible and I’m sorry. ūüė¶

Second! I want to let you know that I am participating in Camp NaNoWriMo again this year! ūüėÄ

The two projects I will be working on this month are-

  1. A collection of short stories about characters from a trilogy that I am in the process of editing.
  2. A new urban fantasy novel. I am still trying to work though the plot of this one but I can tell you that the book it is most like is The Mortal Instruments series by Cassandra Claire. It¬†was very similar to that, especially in the beginning, but is now starting to take it’s own form.

My word count goal for the month is 50,000 words and I am currently at 8,720.

The urban fantasy project in particular is kind of scary for me because I don’t really¬†like the fantasy genre. I haven’t read much in it or really done anything with it. I’m kind of playing it by ear and trying to figure out¬†the genre as I go along.

It originally started out as just fantasy but when that proved too challenging I decided that I would change it to urban fantasy so I could mix the magic of fantasy with the realness of having some characters from our world in it.

World building is something I struggle with, it’s one of the reasons that I hate fantasy because it takes so much of it,¬†so I haven’t been enjoying that aspect of it a lot. If you guys have any tips or tricks for world building, or any articles, books, or websites that you think would help, I would absolutely¬†LOVE if you¬†would share them with me. I need all the help I can get.

I have been taking my writing a little slower this month. Normally I finish really early but I think I’m going to take it a little easier this time through¬†and give myself a break from the¬†craziness¬†of NaNo months.

Are any of you participating in Camp NaNoWriMo this year? If so, how are you doing? I’d love to know what genre you’re working on and what your word goal is for the month!

I’ll hopefully be doing a few more updates and posts throughout the month. Until next time, remember to keep writing!

 

 

Leave a Reply

