I’m Going to Camp!

I’m going to camp! Well, not actual camp, I’ve never been to an actual camp, but this year I am participating in Camp NaNoWriMo! And that’s just as good right? No pesky bloodsucking mosquitos! Instead we have plotholes that suck the life from our stories! But don’t worry about that now, that’s what the editing process is for! First drafts are allowed to be bad, in fact, pretty much all of them are, mine included. So give yourself permission to not be the best the first time through. It’s okay! But this isn’t about first drafts, that’s a post for another day. This is about all things Camp NaNoWriMo! For those of you who don’t know what Camp is, it is a looser version of November’s NaNoWriMo. In Camp NaNo you choose a word count goal at or over 10,000 words, and try to write that many words in the month of April.

One other difference between Camp in April and NaNoWriMo in November is that in Camp you have the choice to join a ‘cabin’ which is like an online motivational chat group of up to eleven people. My friends and I started a private cabin and what I thought would be a small gathering of writers has grown! I didn’t realize we knew so many people who enjoyed writing! Being part of a cabin has been a really fun experience so far as it’s always nice to have writing buddies.

This is my first year participating in Camp NaNo, and my word count goal is currently 40,000 but will probably end up being around 50,000. Since the beginning of the month I have written 12,388 words toward my project. Some of you might be wondering what my project is. Well, I will tell you. Back in November 2014, I started the first of a series of three books for NaNoWriMo. I finished the first book by the end of November and since then have been writing the second. On March 10, I finished the first draft of the second book. For Camp this year, I am writing the third and final book in the trilogy. The genre is Young Adult post-apocalyptic/futuristic/dystopian sci-fi.

I have seen a lot of people sharing their Camp NaNoWriMo survival kits so I will share with you mine.

  1. Notebooks.
  2. Utensils to write with, be it pens or pencils.
  3. My computer. I always write on my computer unless I’m out or it’s late at night, then I use notebooks.
  4. Writing buddies! Writing is a hard and lonely business, and having friends along for the journey is a must!
  5. My trusty timeline. Seeing as my book takes place more than a hundred years in the future I made a timeline so I could keep track of when things happened in history and it’s REALLY helpful for keeping everything organized.
  6. Time. Time to write is a definite must. This doesn’t mean you have to drop everything and become a hermit for a month but you need to set aside time to write.
  7. Twitter. I don’t know what I’d do without Twitter. Well, I do, I wouldn’t write as much or have such a fun time doing it! Wordsprints are the best! Recently I have been doing them with NaNoWriMo’s wordsprint account but probably my favorite place to do them is with Write All Year’s account. Everyone at Write All Year is so nice and encouraging and I’ve made some good online writing friends on there. If you haven’t checked it out, I would encourage you to do so.
  8. My family because I would not make it through this crazy journey without them.
  9. Food. Because who doesn’t need food right? Everybody works better on a full stomach.
  10. My light up pen so I can write in the dark.

That’s all for my Camp NaNo update. If any of you are participating in Camp this April, leave a comment telling me what your word count goal is and what you’re working on! I will leave you with a piece of dialogue from my book and until next time, remember to keep writing!

  “Yeah, I know. But one gets bored in a place like that. I needed a little adventure.”

    “A little adventure? He would have killed you if he found out you stole something from him!”

Leave a Reply

