World Book Day

I’m doing an extra post today because I couldn’t pass up the opportunity to write a post for World Book Day! Here is a list of my favorite fiction novels (in no particular order) and my favorite characters in those novels.

1. Altered by Jennifer Rush

blog3

This book is about a girl, named Anna, who discovers that her father is keeping four boys in a lab in their basement. Anna starts to help her father in the lab, and forms an attachment to the boys, especially Sam. But one day, The Branch, the company her dad works for, comes to take the boys away. The boys stage an escape, which succeeds, and, at the request of her father, they take her with them.

This book was a quick and fun read! It is action packed and FULL of plot twists.

My favorite character is Cas. He was amazing and funny.

cas

2. Divergent by Veronica Roth

blog4

This is about a girl who lives in dystopian Chicago. Her society is sorted into factions, each one valuing a different virtue. On Choosing Day, the sixteen year olds from each faction get to choose which faction they belong to, selfless Abnegation, brave Dauntless, kind and peaceful Amity, honest Candor, or smart Erudite. Tris doesn’t know what faction she belongs too. She doesn’t conform. She is Divergent, and that means her life is in danger.

My favorite character is the antagonist, Eric. He is such a good character and the best antagonist ever.

blog5

3. Insurgent by Veronica Roth

blog6

This is the sequel to Divergent. Because some people might not have read this book, and it would be hard to describe it without spoilers, I will skip the description. But if you haven’t read it, GO READ IT!!!

My favorite character was the same as in the last book, Eric, but Uriah was a good character too.

uriah

4. Chasing the Nightbird by Krista Russell

blog7

14 year old sailor Lucky Valera is just about to board a ship, when he is kidnapped by his older half brother, who claims guardianship over him and forces him to work at the mill, confiscating his earnings. Lucky meets an escaped slave by the name of Daniel, who is worried that the slave catchers are coming after him. Lucky desperately wants to escape his older brother’s custody and tries to find a way, making some new friends along the way.

I have no pictures of my favorite characters, but their names are Lucky and Fortuna. You’ll have to read it to see who I’m talking about.

And also, the book I’m reading right now. It’s not one of my favorites yet, but I wanted to include it anyway. I’m not very far into it, but I will summarize what I know as best I can.

Extraction by Stephanie Diaz

blog8

On the planet Kiel, the atmosphere has been destroyed by pollution, causing moonshine, an acid, to fall from the moon into their world. A force field has been built around the Surface, keeping the moonshine out. But life on the surface is hard. People are forced to labor in fields and face fear and starvation. The only chance to escape the Surface, is being chosen for extraction. But that is rare. If you aren’t chosen, you are marked for replacement, which means that you will be killed when they have someone to replace you. 16 year old Clementine is now old enough to go through extraction testing. But even if she is chosen for extraction, she will have to leave her boyfriend Logan, who was turned down two years ago and now faces replacement.

Those are the books that I have been into lately. Let me know in the comments section if you have read any of the books I listed. Happy World Book Day!

Disclaimer- the pictures used in this post are not mine and they remain copyrighted to their respective owners. I do not mean to infringe upon anyone’s copyright.

Leave a Reply

