My Favorite Books

Today I will be listing a bunch of my favorite books and sorting them into categories. If you’re running low on reading material, maybe you will find these as enjoyable as I have. Let’s get started.

Books To Help You Write.

Spilling Ink: A Young Writer’s Handbook by Ellen Potter and Anne Mazer. This book is WONDERFUL! If you are a young writer looking to learn some tricks of the trade this book is a definite read. It is fun, easy to read, and the authors offer lots of tips on writing. One of the best parts about it (for me at least) is it’s open and friendly feel. If you’ve been feeling different because you’re a writer, come here and you will know that somebody out there understands what it is like.

Writing Magic: creating stories that fly by Gail Carson Levine is another one that I read when I was first starting to write. It is another instructional book on writing.

The New Baby Name Survey by Bruce Lansky. This is one of my favorite name books. It gives you tons of names along with a list of famous people with the same name and a description of what people normally associate with the name. In my mind, it is one of the best name books out there.

Books I Love.

The Maze Runner series by James Dashner. Synopsis- “A boy wakes up in a strange place, surrounded by strange people, with no memory of who he is or where he came from. As time goes on, he finds that all the people around him have the same memory loss. Strange things are happening in the place he now finds himself in, and it seems he is the cause of it all.” There are three books in the series titled The Maze Runner, The Scorch Trials, and The Death Cure. There is also a prequel called The Kill Order and in 2016 another book, called The Fever Code, is being released.

Chasing the Nightbird By Krista Russell-  Synopsis- “14 year old Lucky Valera is a whaler, who loves the sea and is planning on going with the whaling ship called The Nightbird, when he is kidnapped by his hostile half brother, who claims guardianship over him since their father died. Lucky’s brother forces him to work in a mill, stopping him from leaving with The Nightbird. But Lucky is determined to escape, even though his brother isn’t making it easy for him. At the mill, he befriends an escaped slave by the name of Daniel, who is afraid people are going to come and take him back to slavery. Will Lucky escape his older brother? And will be Daniel captured?” This book is a favorite of mine. I loved it so much.

The Clay Marble by Minfong Ho- I haven’t read this book in a long time, so excuse me if my synopsis is off, but this was one of my favorite books when I was littler so I will try my best to describe it to you. “12 year old Dara travels with her family to the Thai border. They are fugitives in a war torn Cambodia after the fall of Khmer Rouge. At the border, they meet another family, and Dara makes a friend named Jantu, who gives her a magic clay marble. Life is good, until fighting nearby forces them to flee and Dara finds herself separated from everything she loves.”

A Treasury of Christmas Tales- I’m not sure who the author of this book is but every year at Christmas time when I was younger, my mom would take out this book and read from it. It has a collection of different, short Christmas stories in it and it was a family tradition that I loved.

The Book I am Reading Now

Legend by Marie Lu- I haven’t gotten very far in this book, so I can’t really give a synopsis of it. Sorry. :/

So those are my reading suggestions. Till next time, and may many hours of reading be between then and now.

2 thoughts on “My Favorite Books

    1. The book is one that I bought from the bus garage book sale. It’s hard cover but has a bit of a squish to it. I believe you had the same one for a while, but when I was grown, not when I was little.

      Like

Leave a Reply

